Our Blog

In the beginning of the Guru Granth Sahib which contains the teachings of Guru Nanak and several other saints, Ekonkar is followed by 8 words which define Ekonkar, and then those 8 words are followed by Gurprasad. This collection of words defining Ekonkar and its path, are called the Mool Mantra.

Here are those words and the meanings of those words:

Ekonkar – one Om shape
Satnaam – true name or true identity or plainly truth
Karta Purakh – Creator, personality that creates
Nirbhau – Without fear, fearless
Nirvair – Without enmity,
Akaal Moorat – Timless shape or just timeless
Ajuni – pronounced Ajooni, Joon is cycle of birth of death, Ajooni is “one who is unaffected by the cycle of birth and death”
Saibhang – Self existing (from vedic ‘svyam bhu’ — self existing)
Gur prasaad – Guru’s blessing or gift (attained by Guru’s blessing)

Comments ( 0 )

    Leave a message

    Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonYouTube IconSubscribe on YouTubeTwitter Icontwitter follow buttoniTunes